My high school years in phases

tumblr_lodtzx58cu1qcgzjho1_500-494x329

8th grade – The Attention Whore

It sounds a little bit harsh, but oh well, it is true. I dressed (if that is the right verb, since most of my body could be seen) provocatively and sought attention from the opposite sex. I guess that was normal for a 14 year old girl, is it not?   I had at least 5 boyfriends (oh, the ‘serious’ relationship) and they all sucked. As much as I talked about sex, I wasn’t physically attracted to any of them. But I kept talking about sex. Not that I had any, since I lost my virginity at 11th grade.

9th grade – The Loner

Oh, my darkest period. I though I was in love for the first time in my life. Well, turned out I wasn’t really. Though I didn’t know that at the time. As you might have guessed from the loner part, the guy didn’t like me or whatever back, so here’s what I did: dodged my friends most of the time, stayed at home, listened to ‘deep’ music, wrote ‘deep’ stuff and took ‘deep’ photos of myself. God, I was so fun.. NOT.

10th grade – The Party Girl

Eventually, I stopped caring or liking or whatever this guy, met new guys, made new friends, and along with the old ones, partied most of the time. No drugs! I was always smiling, telling jokes, going to football games and chatting with people I never knew in my life. And it felt good. Until I realized I was missing something.

11th grade – The Girl In Love

Or someone. That’s when I fell in love. For the first time. For real. All I could see this year was unicorns, and rainbows, and other pink gay stuff. I just wanted to be with him, to kiss him all the time, to drown in his eyes. I wanted to be his. And so I was.

12th grade – Miss Popular

Last year of school, why not make the best of it? I wasn’t exactly Prom Queen, but everyone knew who I was. I most of them actually liked me for me. I participated in all kinds of projects, went to all my classes, got extra credit, got accepted to university in UK. Then I skipped last month of school, found myself a job, started making money (not much, but oh well..) and rocked the finals. Did I mention that I was still in love? Yeah, with the same boy.

I’m now a fresher in Glasgow Caledonian University. I am still with that boy. And we live together. So long for the loner, eh?

 

 

 

M. Stefanova, 18 December 2012

 

Leave a Reply

